Why Twitter?

Hi all!
Are you familiar with social networks? I’m sure you are.  Which ones do you prefer? What do you use them for? I’ve been exploring the use of Twitter as a social network since 2007, but I hadn’t been so active up to this year when I really discovered all its potential. During this time I’ve seen how this tool has become more popular and how powerful it is to create and develop our Personal Learning Network (PLN). In my case, having a Twitter account has meant not only sharing and making connections with ELT colleagues and institutions from all over the world, but learning with and from them. Twitter, as other social networks, represents a fantastic opportunity for professional development you should try. If you want to learn more on Twitter, its uses and how to make connections for your PLN, read this document  ‘Seven ways to find teachers on Twitter’ produced by Richard Byrne.  You can also see ‘Before and After Twitter: Personal Learning Environments’, a very interesting ppt created by Graham Stanley

Do you have a Twitter account? Follow me @Eveweb. You don’t? Create a Twitter account now. I will be happy to help you build your own PLN.
Evelyn

About evelynizquierdo

English teacher at Universidad Central de Venezuela, tech enthusiast, e-tutor, ICT teacher trainer, proud Webhead, Avealmec, VenTESOL, CLED, TESOL and IATEFL member https://evelynizquierdo.wordpress.com/

Posted on October 3, 2010, in Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I currently have two Twitter accounts. One that I use to share valuable information with other educators and different professionals, and the other is for my students to have another channel open.

Leave a Reply

